Brain – Korean Drama Review

brain-poster-shot6

Brain! Brain! Brain! You just occupied my wandering brain that wanted to rest. 🙂

How do I start writing about this fantastic drama? I couldn’t think of the exact word to describe this one. Anyway, to start with, we just finished our project at work so I’m a glorious bum for an entire week.:) After an exhausting project, I managed to have my free time to enjoy my favorite hobby – and that’s watching Korean dramas. Too bad I ran out of dramas to watch. Actually, I’m a bit disappointed with Korean dramas nowadays, some are just incomparable to their previous works. I browsed for some good dramas, but couldn’t find any. I’m not in the mood for heavy dramas nor romantic ones. I just wanted something different.

Then I saw this drama so-called Brain. I haven’t heard of it before. The main actor, at first glance, does not appeal to me at all. I tried browsing for the reviews, and I found out that it’s a great work. So… I decided to try it! Anyway, I’ve always been a fan of medical dramas since I really admire doctors. They look smart and neat!lol

Meet The Doctors:

photo201907

Dr. Lee Gang Hun, portrayed by the Legendary actor Shin Ha Kyun, is an outrageously arrogant neurosurgeon in Chunha University. He’s a perfectionist, ambitious, but…. a genius young neurosurgeon whom everyone hates. Technically, he is Mr. I-Know-It-Better-Than-Anyone-Else. He is embarrassed of being poor so he neglects his loving mother and sister. He has a past that he wants to cover up with his achievements. Proving he’s the best, he always competes with his fellow doctor and former classmate who was born with everything, Dr. Seo Joon-Suk (Jo Dong Hyeok).

brain-cast-choi-jung-won

Dr. Yoon Ji-Hye is a kind and warm-hearted, however a careless neurosurgeon. She is hardworking but often commits errors in her practice. She hates Dr. Lee Gang Hun due to his arrogance. However, as time passes by, she saw Lee Gang Hun as someone who needs help. She tried to help him until she fell in love with him.

images (1)

Professor Kim Sang Chul is the best neurosurgeon in South Korea. He’s a great doctor in terms of his skills and his treatment to his patients. He is very kind, which Lee Gang Hun finds as hypocrisy. Like Lee Gang Hun, he has a past that he buried but when he met Lee Gang Hun, all those nightmares start coming back to his life.

Here it goes…

Surprisingly, the first episode already hooked me up. The surgeries are nerve-wrecking! Come to think of it, I am not a fan of bloody things. I just can’t look at it. But because I find this drama really interesting, I swallowed it up and focused my entire attention to it.

The story is just typical. It has neither too complicated twists nor fairy tale romance – it’s plainly about the lives of these surgeons inside the hospital. That’s why this drama is just brilliant. They managed to pin the viewers with its simplicity. Every episode is dragging, you will not get bored. It’s actually fast paced. Issues are here and there, but are solved the next day. I also love that there’s no annoying third party involved.

The music whenever they have a surgery is really heart-thumping. My goodness, I’m even praying that the patient wouldn’t die!lol This is how this drama affects me. What I also love the most is when Dr. Lee prepares for his surgery! He’s really gorgeous when he does that scrubbing thing and when he enters the OR with his hands up. waaaahhhhh!!! Can’t believe a 40 year-old actor would make me feel this way! >.< He is indeed oozing with appeal and intelligence when he’s in his gown. Yes, admit it, he’s not the best-looking Korean actor out there, but his role as a doctor just gave him a hundredfold share of appeal.

I remembered first seeing him in one vampire movie before when he’s a geeky freak (lol you won’t believe it’s also him) and in Welcome to Dongmakgol where…. oh well I barely noticed him there. If I didn’t watch this drama, I wouldn’t have realized it was him. It’s also funny when he flips off his gown to show his arrogance and when he wants to walk to show off.

Aside from those physical facts, I love his wit. But I really hate his arrogance. He’s too ambitious that he can sacrifice his pride for it. Actually he’s already annoying because of his ultra-magnetic-super-sonic arrogance!:D He’s always full of grudge that’s why he seldom smiles. And when he does…. >.<

Out of all these stresses they show inside the hospital, what a breath of fresh air is the slight romance between Dr. Lee Gang Hun and Yoon Ji-Hye. It is very minimal, but sweet and simple. Who wouldn’t want to see how this conceited doctor acts when he’s in love? It’s really cute when he’s pretending not to care and keeping his blossoming feelings inside. >.<

Aside from the romance, applause for the lead actors for delivering such great performances. I admire them because they seem to really study how doctors move. It’s effortless. Anyway, I’ll just mention the performance of Professor Kim Sang Chul and of course, Shin Ha Kyun as Lee Gang Hun. Lee Gang Hun just made me angry, tremble, and cried A LOT! His eyes convey it all since it’s his character to keep his emotions inside. I can feel the pain when that tragic moment (not to spoil) happened. When he cried, I cried the more!lol Also, when he’s being humiliated and he’s trying not to cry, I really pity him. When he screams, I got scared!

I still have a lot of things to say with regard to this drama, but I’ve decided to make it short and leave the rest to those who watched and who will watch this drama. All in all, Brain is fantastic! A masterpiece yet to be uncovered. I just don’t know why this is not so popular. Maybe because it’s not a romantic drama and it has no big stars to start with? Oh well, it’s really a waste not to watch it. Now, this is one of my favorites! Ahm, in terms of medical drama, then this is the best for me.:)

I just wanna tell Shin Ha Kyun, if you can read this… I am now your fan!:D

Great job to all casts and crew of Brain! Applause. I hope there’s a part 2! The ending left me asking for more… 😥

Bye bye Shin Ha Kyun! Till your next work of art!:D

images

My overall rating for Brain is 10 out of 10.

11 thoughts on “Brain – Korean Drama Review

  1. just watched this and i loved it sooo much.. ive nvere heard of shk before this and now im crazy about him, haha i keep re watching the episodes to get more of shk 🙂 definitely one of the best kdramas ive watched. great storyline and really fantastic acting. not the pretty boy crap they usually splash out on tv,

  2. In my country (Malaysia), this drama just been aired on TV.I think it is ep 9 today…but after I watch 2 and 3 episodes, I just cannot waiting. (2 ep for 1 week which was aired on wednesday n thursday).So I decided to download the drama on net.WOW…truly ohsem drama.Fall in love with BRAIN.SEASON 2 PLESSSSSSS!!!

    1. I completely agree with you ! Unfortunately, since 2011 no continuation has been done for BRAIN 브레인 , and as you and so many others across the world, we deeply think that it desserve it ! That is why, I have personally wrote and published a Public Letter to KBS and Brain’s staff to support a continuation. You can read it on: http://brainkoreandrama.wordpress.com/ and on : https://plus.google.com/u/0/104692163482875789418/posts/p/pub
      and share it, if you want to support for a continuation for Brain 브레인 drama. Thank You.

  3. watch him in all about my romance..his partner is lee min jung…omg i’m totally falling in love with him..
    n before i start my neurology rotation..i’d watch this..hehehehe

  4. BRAIN (브레인): A Korean Masterpiece, deeply human and realistic. Everyone should watch it and support. Thank You for posting this great video, thank you for this priceless drama !!!!
    BRAIN (브레인), is undoubtedly the best drama ever created, produced, directed, played and aired. With this unforgettable and priceless drama, through its plot and its outstanding actors, actresses and musicians so touching, and incredibly realistic, you have blessed each human soul. Here is not an exageration. You’ve made a great job, incredibly human ! Such a benediction, a gift for everyone. Thousands Warm Thank You. Please, invest to create and produce a continuation to this priceless drama. You will invest money and time, and … you will earn an international gratitude from each human soul. Dr Kim Sang Chul said beautifully that our brain is our true heart, so please do not forget that using your brain as your heart, investing in a such new work would be a great benediction for you, for us, for everyone across the world.
    http://brainkoreandrama.wordpress.com/

  5. Hi! I just watched it (again), though I had been watching it over 3 times, never got bored yet hehe. The story line was awesome, so do all the artist act, it just so pretty to watched. Try to watch harvestvilla, shin ha kyun also acted at there, maybe it not as good as brain, but it is worth to watch, lets hope for season 2 ♡.

Leave a Reply

